2014 Reading List

Every year I say that I’d like to read more and that never really seems to happen, what with the business of two children, work, etc. This year I’d like to be more diligent with my reading. Here are the books that I’d like to read this year, most of which are currently sitting on my shelves. Aside from 2-3 of these that I have read, all will be a first time through for me.

Theology (15)

Living God I & II (Orthodox Catechism); The Nicene Faith I & II, John Behr; Dogmatics in Outline, Karl Barth; Church Dogmatics I.1 & I.2, Karl Barth; Confessions, Augustine; Atheist Delusions, David Bentley Hart; Beauty of the Infinite, David Bentley Hart; Hope Among The Fragments, Ephraim Radner; Rule of Faith, Ephraim Radner & George Sumner; The Fate of Communion, Ephraim Radner etc.; Exclusion and Embrace, Miroslav Volf; The Book of Common Prayer, A Biography, Alan Jacobs

(Political?) Philosophy (3)

Debt, David Graeber; After Virtue, Alistair McIntyre; The Communist Manifesto, Marx & Engels

Chaplaincy (3)

Spiritual Care, Dietrich Bonhoeffer; Suffering Presence, Stanley Hauerwas; The Minister as Diagnostician, Paul Pruyser

Literature (10)

Dubliners, James Joyce; A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man, James Joyce; The Violent Bear it Away, Flannery O’Connor; Crime & Punishment, Dostoevsky; The Idiot, Dostoevsky; The Brothers Karamazov, Dostoevsky; No Country for Old Men, Cormac McCarthy; All the Pretty Horses, Cormac McCarthy; Hamlet, Shakespeare; King Lear, Shakespeare

Classics (3)

The Divine Comedy, Dante; The Odyssey, Homer; The Aeneid, Virgil

Poetry (4)

Selected Works, Samuel Taylor Coleridge; Selected Works, W.B. Yeats; The World in the Shadow of God, Ephraim Radner; Sinners Welcome, Mary Karr

Parenting (2)

The Price of Privilege, Madeline Levine; Peaceful Parent, Happy Kids, Laura Markham

So, there you have it, 40 in all. Frankly, I will be impressed with myself if I can make it. I’ve always enjoyed reading theology, but this year I’d like to read more literature, so I’ve included 17 such works (Lit, Classics, Poetry). I also picked two “practical” categories which are pertinent for me chaplaincy (my job), and parenting.

Also, this list does not include other reading that I’ll have to keep up with. I’m audting a course with Radner this semester that will involve a good amount of reading. It also does not include Biblical studies stuff related to preaching, my subscription to First Things, blogs, news, and most importantly, the Bible.

Here’s to a good year.

ps – What have you read this past year that you think I should read to?

Leave a Reply

