“I did not intend to be ‘Stanley Hauerwas’.” – Stanley Hauerwas

The in-laws got me this book for Christmas and I just cracked it open this evening.

I have a thing for opening lines in a book, and I thought the first paragraph of this one was great.

I did not intend to be “Stanley Hauerwas.” I am aware, however, that there is someone out there who bears that name. Stanley Hauerwas is allegedly famous. How can a theologian, particularly in our secular age, be famous? If theologians become famous in times like ours, surely they must have betrayed their calling. After all, theology is a discipline whose subject should always put in doubt the very idea that those who practice it know what they are doing.

Classic!

Leave a Reply

