Praise the Mount (and actively waiting)!

This is such a great song lyrically and I really like this rendition of it.

Enjoy.

Come Thou Fount of every blessing
Tune my heart to sing Thy grace;
Streams of mercy, never ceasing,
Call for songs of loudest praise
Teach me some melodious sonnet,
Sung by flaming tongues above.
Praise the mount! I’m fixed upon it,
Mount of God’s unchanging love.

Here I raise my Ebenezer;
Hither by Thy help I’m come;
And I hope, by Thy good pleasure,
Safely to arrive at home.
Jesus sought me when a stranger,
Wandering from the fold of God;
He, to rescue me from danger,
Interposed His precious blood.

O to grace how great a debtor
Daily I’m constrained to be!
Let that grace now like a fetter,
Bind my wandering heart to Thee.
Prone to wander, Lord, I feel it,
Prone to leave the God I love;
Here’s my heart, O take and seal it,
Seal it for Thy courts above.

One of my profs said the other day “Advent isn’t about Jesus. It’s about the coming of Gods new age of which Jesus is an agent.”

For me, this changes Advent. Advent is always talked about as a time of waiting. However, it’s a different sort of waiting. Jesus, for example, didn’t wait for Gods new age to come. Rather, Jesus was an agent of the coming of the kingdom and I can’t help but believe that the Church is meant to be another agent of the coming of the kingdom. So then, if Advent is about waiting for the coming of Gods new age it is not a “sitting on the couch” kind of waiting. Rather, it is a “get out and act” kind of waiting. An expectant waiting.

2 comments
  1. Orlagh Turtle said:

    I don’t “get” this….Jesus IS GOD so how can HE be an agent? and the “waiting” today is only to remind us of the waiting throughout the O.T. has now been accomplished In Christ…as Paul said to the jailer after the earthquake, when he asked…how can I be saved? ” to which Paul replied..”BELIEVE in the Lord Jesus Christ and you will be saved, you and your household”

  2. jt* said:

    I see what you’re saying, but perhaps it might be more helpful to say that God is Jesus (instead of “Jesus IS GOD”). Jesus is the second person of the Trinity, the Son, with flesh on. But that’s just it, surely Jesus is fully God but he is likewise fully man and therein lies the language of Jesus as an agent. Jesus is the joining of God and man, he is the God-man. Jesus isn’t God (because Jesus is fully man as well as fully God, and man is not God), but God is Jesus.

    Anyways, while I don’t disagree that the season of Advent is about waiting expectantly for the coming Messiah I would merely add that is the waiting for a Messiah *that came to usher in a new age* (this was the Jewish expectation after all, they just didn’t understand the way in which it was accomplished). This doesn’t diminish Jesus in any way if that’s what you’re concerned about.

    And so we wait. We wait for the return of Jesus the Christ when he will *fully* usher in the Kingdom of God. Until then, we wait *expectantly* because God’s kingdom is already breaking through in the midst of this old dying world.

Leave a Reply

