Live from the future.

A fairly popular Christian rock band once sang,

I’m gonna be a history maker in this land
I’m gonna be a speaker of truth to all mankind

Then I read this quote that I’d heard before,

The future will be kind to us, for we intend to write it. Sir Winston Churchill.

And I thought, “what might this mean for the Church?” I mean, I’m not saying the we’re getting any better as we progress along through space and time. But what if, the Church can be a community that writes (or at least shapes) the future (and as a result the past?)? In fact, I think maybe we have to believe that. Provided that we agree that the Church is a living Body in which God, by his Spirit, dwells, then I don’t think it’s any stretch to say that the Church could write the future.

But if you’re trying to make history, then you’re stuck in the past. God’s Kingdom is coming. Just something I’m thinking about.

Peace.

Leave a Reply

