This and that.

I’m currently sitting in a small locally-owned coffee shop on George St. in Peterborough. We arrived here yesterday because Christina is taking a non-violent restraint course @ the local college. I’ve been to Peterborough once before, and that was for a basketball game, so I didn’t see much of the city. Peterborough is pretty dang sweet though. George St. is a tight little place littered with local shops and restaurants. Last night Christina and I had a pint in a place called Hot Belly Mama’s. They brew 4 or 5 of their own beers on site. I had a pint of their Seasonal Ale and their dark ale that is named after Oscar Wilde. Both were delicious. Between all of the local enterprise, the community feel and the proximity to the Trent-Severn waterway, Peterborough strikes me as a pretty sweet place to reside (plus, as I drove past the GE headquarters I was pretty sure I recognized it from Tommy Boy; I believe it was the scene for Big Tom’s factory).

Recently I’ve taken up running again. I used to play soccer when I was a bit younger and because of that I developed a pretty decent stamina that got me into running. Anyways, it’s been a while since I was anything of a committed runner, but I went for a run the other day and discovered that apparently you can loose your fitness (I went out for a 3.8 km* run, and found that I only lasted about 3km before I was ready to K.O.). It also looks like I’m going to be heading out to Prague/Paris/Lille again this August. It doesn’t look like Christina is going to be able to make which sucks, but distance makes the heart grow fonder, isn’t that what they say? We’re going on a little road trip this coming week. We’re driving down to Virginia Beach with Kate and Jordan for a little camping/surfing extravaganza. We’re camping out at First Landing State Park and Jordan and I will both be trying to learn how to surf for the first time. Just a couple days on the beach! Hmm, what else is new? I started reading Chesterton’s ‘Orthodoxy’ the other day and am seeing what I’ve been missing. One of my favourite quotes thus far is “I did try to found a heresy of my own; and when I had put the last touches to it, I discovered that it was orthodoxy.” Christina has been applying to a bunch of job opportunities and is hoping to score something full-time in the near future. Also, one more note about personal accomplishments, we’ve really only used the car thus far for Christina to get to work in Newmarket. We’ve been walking everywhere (I’ve also been biking). We haven’t even had to use the TTC yet, crazy. Oh, one more thing, on Thursday night I saw the fastest man in the world run the 100m live! I peeked through the fence instead of paying the $150 for a ticket.

Anyways, that aside, here’s a bunch of stuff I found online that I thought was interesting:

Humingbirds are faster than jets.

Banksy is so dope. His story is pretty cool rising from being a graffiti artist on the streets of Bristol and being chased by the cops and city council to taking over the Bristol museum! Here’s the video.

Congrat’s English!

Hooliganism and keepin’ it in the fam.

Whelp, see ya.

*Thanks to mapmyrun.com!

Leave a Reply

