Hmm…

There’s just something about this line of thought that doesn’t sit right with me.

I find this to be an excellent response.

As you browse through the list of council members, do you notice that most of them share some commonalities? One of the commonalities that I see is that every one is seated in a position of power and wealth. Should that throw up any red flags when we hear them discussing the poor? My gut reaction would be yes. But that’s just me.

What are your thoughts?

Grace and peace.

5 comments
  1. Ya man…any coalition, organization, label, brand or groups like this usually throw red flags up for me instantly.

    You only pointed out even more reasons why.

    It seems like the gospel coalition is kinda like a reformed response to emergent….and i can’t stand emergent either 🙂

  2. Beth said:

    Hey JT, just curious… how you know they’re all wealthy?

  3. jt* said:

    Well I suppose I don’t have their financial statements or anything, so it took a bit of presuming on my part, however, I think those presumptions are likely accurate.

    If you look at their titles they are all either Lead/Senior Pastors, Professors, or President of something or other. Those are typically well paying positions. Now I don’t presume to know what exactly they do with their money, just that they make a good bit of it.

    Also, if you consider the ‘mouthpieces’ of TGC, guys like Carson, Piper, Keller and Driscoll, well, I don’t think there’s any denying that they are in positions of power/wealth.

    On another note, being a female Christian, I’d be interested to hear your take on the fact that they are all *males*. That is no accident by the way, one of their “neo-Reformed” beliefs is that women are unfit for Pastoring and other such positions.

    By the way, I should point out that I don’t hold anything against any of these leaders in particular. In fact, I’ve learned and been encouraged by many of them. As I read through the documents on the website I find myself agreeing with much of what is written there. So I’m not meaning to set about to discredit TGC (as if I could do that anyway!). I think Fitch’s post is pretty solid and I think Nathan makes a good point that “It seems…kinda like a reformed response to emergent.” I guess what stood out to me was the fact that the discussion of ‘the poor’ in the above video was happening between three, wealthy, middle-aged white men, which leads me to wonder how precisely they have engaged in a relationship with ‘the poor’ as opposed to sitting in a room theologizing about it.

    Hope life as a mom is splendid! Are you planning on going back to work at some point?

  4. Orlagh Turtle said:

    you are extreemly critical…you don’t know anything about their personal lives

  5. jt* said:

    I’m not sure I need to know much about their personal lives. The material that I’m talking about is *published* material. So I don’t necessarily need to know much about what they do in private to know about what they say publicly. Do I?

    Plus, I think it’s ok to be critical. I don’t think I’m being unfair, but when things are said/published *publicly* shouldn’t we test those things as opposed to just blindly accepting them. Our allegiance is to Christ, not to particular Christian organizations. Therefore, I think it’s vital to test what people say publicly.

    By the way, how is this critical? “By the way, I should point out that I don’t hold anything against any of these leaders in particular. In fact, I’ve learned and been encouraged by many of them. As I read through the documents on the website I find myself agreeing with much of what is written there. So I’m not meaning to set about to discredit TGC.”

Leave a Reply

