last night

last night was awesome! here’s how it broke down

6:55pm: find out though a friend that mutemath has a show very soon in toronto

6:57pm: find out that this show is actually tonight

6:58pm: realize that the show starts in 2 minutes, oh crap.

7:00pm: jump in the shower.

7:15pm: poop.

7:31pm: jump in my trusty VW.

8:00pm: park my trusty VW on queen st. east.

8:04pm: purchase sold out ticket from scalper (who just so happened to be standing at the entrance to the opera house).

8:06pm: enter the opera house…i made it!

i’ve been listening to mute math for a good while now. back in december i got a chance to go see them at the el macombo on spadina. wow. it was the best live show i’d ever been to. so last night i jumped (literally) at the chance to go see these guys again. wow. if you’ve never heard mute math, go listen to them. if you ever have the chance to see them live, RUN. they put on the greatest live show that i’ve ever seen.

i couldn’t help but dance. it’s like the music was in my bones. i felt like jeremiah: “but if i say, ‘i will not sing these lyrics or dance at this show,’ their music is in my heart like a fire, a fire shut up in my bones. I am weary of holding it in; indeed, i cannot.” i’m pretty sure that’s what jerry was saying. when i hear their music i must move. i can’t help it.

for me, last night was an evening of worship. and, my friends, it was intense. mute math’s lyrics are so real. they are genuine. i find that they draw me into the presence of God more than most of todays songs we find in the contemporary worship section of our local christian bookstore (and by “christian bookstore” i mean, a store that is broken by sin and has decided to follow Jesus, you know what i mean). let me describe to you a scene that took place last night…

the two guys beside me were rather annoying. it was as if every 5 minutes they had another beer in their hand and were coming dangerously close (and by dangerously, i mean that i’ll break their nose if they spill on me) to spilling their beverages on me. they were obviously drunk. at least the one guy was! every couple seconds he’d frantically yell out, “fuck yeah!!!” this was followed by him turning to his buddy and saying, “these guys are fucking amazing!!!” they were annoying. in my space (.com/jtlovesjesus). i was, in the words of kip, “T-O’d”…

control. an older song by mute math. the lead singer came to the front of the stage and began belting the following lyrics:

“Take control of the atmosphere
Take me far away from here
There is no better loss than to lose myself in you
In a parachute to glide, I am captive in your sky
Surrender has somehow become so beautiful

Take control of the atmosphere
Take control of the atmosphere
You can take my world you can fill the air
Take control, take control

It’s such a beautiful surrender
It’s such a beautiful surrender
It’s such a beautiful surrender
It’s such a beautiful surrender

Move me up through the darkest clouds
Till I’ve lost in the sun every shadow of doubt
There is no better find than to find myself with you
In a fog you are all I see
I’m inviting you closer with each time I breathe
Surrender has somehow become so beautiful

Take control of the atmosphere
Take control of the atmosphere
There is no reason I should breathe unless you’re in the air
Take control

Its such a beautiful surrender
Its such a beautiful surrender
And I’m calling out
would you take control
And I’m calling out”

wow. it got to a point where the music kind of faded into the background and the entire audience, and i mean everyone, was singing out the lyrics, “It’s such a beautiful surrender/ it’s such a beautiful surrender/ and i’m calling out/ would you take control/ and i’m calling out.” everyone just kept repeating this over and over and over again. and i look to my left, only to see my beer-guzzling-explitive-hurling friends screaming out these lyrics with their hands raised. God is HERE. and i was blown away. here, in this auditorium, were about 600 people yelling out, together, in unity. but they were not just singing a song. they were giving worship. singing unto their Creator. the funny thing was, though, most of them probably didn’t realize it. yet, something within them was SCREAMING out to God. surrender is so beautiful, yet they didn’t realize that in its fullness. offering God control of themselves, but without the slightest idea they were doing so.

one thing was on my mind that whole time mute math was playing: God is here. he is present. he is not far off and distant. he is not there, he is HERE.

more mute math lyrics for you to ponder:

“I know you stay true when my world is false
everything around’s breaking down to chaos
I always see you when my sight is lost
everything around’s breaking down to chaos”

1 comment
  1. Jevante said:

    You took 16 minutes to poop? Your poor colon.

Leave a Reply

